Home > Prominent Old Boys > Education


Mr. Peter Tsui Yan Sau 徐仁壽先生

Notable Achievements
  • former teacher of SJC
  • founded Wah Yan College, Hong Kong in 1919
  • founded Wah Yan College Kowloon in 1924



    Prof. The Hon. Sir Charles Kuen Kao 高錕爵士
    GBM, KBE, FRS, FREng | Year in SJC: Class of 1952

    Notable Achievements
  • Nobel Prize Laureate of Physics for "groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication"
  • Awarded multiple international prizes, e.g. The IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal, Millennium Outstanding Engineer Award, Hong Kong
  • Given Fellowships by various distinguished institutions, e.g. The Royal Society of London and Trumbull College of Yale University
  • Former Vice-Chancellor of CUHK
  • Awarded Honorary Degrees by a number of universities, e.g. Yale University, HKU and CUHK

  • Remarks
  • Known as "Father of Fiber Optics"



    Prof. Richard Ho Man Wui 何文匯教授
    JP | Year in SJC : Class of 1964

    Notable Achievements
  • President of the Chinese University of Hong Kong — Tung Wah Group of Hospitals Community College

  • Remarks
  • Key Campaigner for the Proper Pronunciation of Cantonese



    Ir. Prof. Lee Chack Fan 李焯芬教授
    GBS, JP | Year in SJC : Class of 1965

    Notable Achievements
  • Director of HKU SPACE
  • Chair Professor of Geotechnical Engineering of the University of Hong Kong
  • President of the Fuhui Charitable Foundation since 2003

  • Remarks:
  • K. Y. Lo Medal of the Engineering Institute of Canada in 2001
  • Gold Medal of the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers in 2008
  • Queen Elizabeth II'l=;s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012



    Prof. Andrew Chan Chi Fai 陳志輝教授
    SBS, JP | Year in SJC : Class of 1971

    Notable Achievements
  • Head of Shaw College, CUHK
  • Professor in the Department of Marketing and the Director of the EMBA Programme of the Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Member of the Electoral Affairs Commission
  • Former Chairman of the Consumer Council
  • Chairman of the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong
  • Academic and Accreditation Committee of the Securities and Futures Commission
  • Lump Sum Grant Steering Committee of Social Welfare Department
  • Quality Tourism Services Committee
  • Accreditation Strategic Advisory Board of Hong Kong Institute of Human Resource Management

  • Remarks
  • One of the key members of Red Cross Unit 17 at SJC



    Dr. Joseph Ting Sun Pao 丁新豹博士
    | Year in SJC : Class of 1971

    Notable Achievements
  • Pre-eminent scholar of the history of Hong Kong
  • Former Chief Curator of the Hong Kong Museum of History
  • Honorary Fellow and Former Member of the Council of the Royal Asiatic Society, Hong Kong Branch
  • Adjunct Professor and Honorary Senior Research Fellow in the Department of History at the Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Chairman of the Chinese Modern History Society of Hong Kong
  • Honorary Advisor to the University Museum and Art Gallery in HKU, the Hong Kong Museum of Art, the Hong Kong Museum of History, the Shenzhen Museum and the Guangdong Provincial Museum
  • Honorary Assistant Professor in the School of Chinese at the University of Hong Kong
  • Honorary University Fellow of the University of Hong Kong
  • Honorary Fellow of the Hong Kong Institute of Education
  • Member of the Antiquities Advisory Board
  • Member of Lord Wilson Heritage Trust




    Prof. Dennis Lo Yuk Ming 盧煜明教授
    SBS | Year in SJC : Class of 1981

    Notable Achievements
  • Director of the Li Ka Shing Institute of Health Sciences, the Li Ka Shing Professor of Medicine and Professor of Chemical Pathology of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK).
  • Associate Dean (Research) of the Faculty of Medicine of CUHK
  • Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh) and a Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists (U.K.).
  • Fellow of the Royal Society
  • Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences in 2013
  • Former President of the Hong Kong Society of Clinical Chemistry

  • Remarks:
  • Discovered the presence of fetal DNA in maternal plasma in 1997
  • State Natural Science Award (Class II) from the State Council of China in 2006
  • International Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (IFCC) — Abbott Award for Outstanding Contribution to Molecular Diagnostics in 2006
  • US National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry Distinguished Scientist Award in 2006
  • Croucher Senior Medical Research Fellowship
  • Sigi Zeiring Award from the American Association of Clinical Chemistry in 2007
  • Fulbright Distinguished Scholar in 2009
  • First Future Science Prize 2016
  • Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences 2021